Post-Docs and Visiting Scholars

Saeromi Chung

PhD, Pusan National University, South Korea 2015
MS, Pusan National University, South Korea 2010
BS, Pusan National University, South Korea 2006

Research Focus: Development of electrochemical Biosensor for Point of care diagnosis
Saeromi’s research focuses on developing ultrasensitive electrochemical biosensors using bio/nanomaterials to detect clinically relevant biomarkers. She is interested in sensor probe fabrication/characterization and its application for monitoring disease.

Graduate Students

Omid Ghadami

BSc, University of Tabriz, Tabriz, Iran 2009
MSc, Sharif University of Technology, Tehran, Iran 2016

Research Focus: Wirelessly Powered in-vivo Biochemical Sensors
Omid’s current research focuses on mixed-signal circuits for interfacing biochemical sensors and ultra-low-power RF circuits. He is trying to solve problems in realizing the future of low-power point-of-care diagnostics devices.

Michael Sveiven

BS, University of Arizona, AZ 2017

Research Focus: Point-of-care diagnostics for proteolytic diseases
Michael’s research focuses on the development of a point-of-care diagnostic device for the rapid detection of proteases. He is currently optimizing surface chemistry techniques on magnetoresistive sensors to detect the presence of specific proteases often found in patients with Cystic Fibrosis, the most common, inherited fatal disease in Caucasians.

Aditi Jain

BE (Hons.), BITS Pilani, India 2016

Research Focus: Low-power circuit design for biosensors
Aditi’s research focuses on developing energy-efficient, low-power temperature sensors for medication adherence. She is researching alternative readout schemes for ultra-low power sensor interfaces in area-constrained environments.

Tyler Hack

BSEE, Santa Clara University, CA 2019

Research Focus: Low-power circuit design for biomedical applications
Tyler’s research focuses on the design of wireless biosensor systems for low-power and non-invasive health monitoring. He is studying techniques to design RF front ends to capture input signals from the body, such as EEG, to enable smaller form factors and more efficient electronics for monitoring vital signs.

Josh Rosenberg

BSE, Case Western Reserve University, OH 2019

Research Focus: Low-power circuit design for biomedical applications
Josh’s Research focuses on the design of low-power circuits for applications in biomedical sensing and electrophysiology. He studies analog circuit implementations of biomedical sensing modalities such as fast-scan cyclic voltammetry and magnetoresistive sensing.

Asish Koruprolu

MS, Stanford University, CA 2020
BTech, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India 2018

Research focus: Wearable and implantable medical device circuit design
Asish’s research focuses on designing low-power circuits for medical device technologies that have the potential to transform the current healthcare paradigm. He is working on building blocks for a VCO-based ADC for biomedical and IoT applications.

Zhaoyi (Louis) Liu

BSEE (Summa Cum Laude), UCLA 2021

Research Focus: Low-power mixed-signal biomedical and wearable electronics
Louis’s research focuses on designing integrated low-power, high-sensitivity electronic systems and IoT devices for efficient biosensing and continuous monitoring. He works on sensing analog front-ends, such as novel TIA structures and current-mode ΔΣ modulators.

Undergraduate Students


Luke Lindenmuth (MS, 2023) – Now at Broadcom
Corentin Pochet (PhD, 2022) – Now at Apple
Abhishek Agarwal (MS, 2022) – Now at MaxLinear
Naveen Singh (Post-Doc, 2020-2022) – Now faculty at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Da Ying
(PhD, 2021) – Now at Apple
Mila Tan (MS, 2020) – Now at MaxLinear
Xiahan Zhou
(PhD, 2020) – Now at Qualcomm
Matthew Chan (UG, 2020) – Now at CMU for a PhD
Weifan Zhang (UG, Summer Research Internship Program, 2019-2020)
Tonu Wu (MS, Summer Research Internship Program, 2019-2020)
Gabrielle Kang (HS student, Sum 2018-Fall 2019)
Somok Mondal (PhD, 2020) – Now at Apple
Iric (Chih-Cheng) Huang (PhD, 2020) – Now a post-doc at National Tsing Hua University (NTHU)
Enhan Mai (MS, 2020) – Now at Samsung
Haowei Jiang (UG Exchange Student, Fall 13, PhD, 2019) – Now at Apple
Hsu (Bill) Yan-Cheng (International Summer Research Program, 19) – National Central University
Tai-Hsing Lee (Visiting Scholar) – Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI)
Rajesh Seenivasan (Post-Doc 16-18) – Now at CARI Therapeutics
Alex Sun (PhD, 2018) – Now at Proteus Digital Health
Sandeep Adem (MS, 2018) – Now at Clover Therapeutics
Edwin (Chung Lun) Hsu (PhD, 2018) – Now at Apple
Sonal Jain (MS BioEngineering, 2017) – Now at Mammoth Biosciences, Inc.
Arsh Buch (UG) – Now at Stanford MS
Tom Phelps (UG) – Now at UCSD for a PhD
Michael Unanian (UG) – Now at Apple
Venkatesh Alagarswamy Govindaraj (PostDoc 14-16) – Now at Roswell Biotechnology
Saurabh Kulkarni (MS) – Now at Maxim
Kaushik Sridhar (MS) – Now at Stanford
Chengyang (Bryce) Yao (UG, Spr 14 – Spr 15) – Now at Stanford
Travis Wambach (UG) – MaXentric Technologies
Sammie Wang (UG) – Now at Northrop Grumman Corporation
Mengdi He (UG, Win-Spr 15) – Now at Synopsys
Jessica (Jingxue) Zhou (UG, Win-Spr 15) – Now at Bio-Rad
Youngdal Jeong (UG Exchange Student, Sum 14)
Julie Vaughn (HS Student, Sum 14) – Now at MIT
Osvaldo Alcazar Pulido (HS Student, Sum 14)
Wahab Alasfour (UG, Fall 13)
Adam Orendain (UG, Sum 13)
Kevin (Chunghoon) Woo (UG, Spr 13 – Sum 13) – Now at ViaSat

Prospective Students

I actively seek highly motivated undergraduate and graduate students and post-docs for my group. If you are interested in any projects or have other related interests, please get in touch with me to apply. Please be very specific in your email and do not include attachments that are not in PDF form.

Like many colleagues, every month, I receive several inquiries from prospective students, post-docs, and visitors, who wish to join my research group. I cannot respond to all of these requests because of their sheer volume. If you try to contact me in this regard, please do not be offended if I do not reply. The department handles the graduate students’ admission process, not individual faculty.